The Faculty of Social Sciences is one of the oldest faculties in the University of Botswana. It currently comprises eight departments which offer undergraduate, masters and doctoral programs in various fields. With its 2,300 students, 180 full-time academic staff, and wide array of programs and research centers, the Faculty of Social Sciences plays a key role at the heart of the University of Botswana. It is headed by a Dean who is assisted by a Deputy Dean of the faculty. Its graduate students are supervised by excellent researchers and undertake cutting-edge research in the Faculty's Masters, Mphil and Ph.D. programs. The Departments under the Faculty of Social Sciences are Economics, Law, Political Science and Public Administrative Studies, Population Studies, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology and Statistics. Students admitted into the BA (social sciences) programme are allowed, with the permission of the relevant heads of department, to pursue a combined major in two subjects from some departments across the faculty as well as selected departments in other faculties. Degree programmes offered in the faculty include Bachelor of law, Bachelor of Social Sciences, Bachelor of Social Work and Bachelor of Criminal Justice. Whether you are a prospective student, a current student in need of academic advising, or a graduate or alumnus, explore our website to find what you are looking for. More details about our programmes can be found in the particular Department’s section of this website which you are encouraged to visit.

In pursuit of academic excellence