The Department of Civil Engineering is located, along Machel Drive, in the eastern part of Gaborone City. It is one of the four departments of the Faculty of Engineering and Technology (FET), (the others being Electrical, Mechanical and Design and Technology).

Administratively, the Department of Civil Engineering is divided into sections, namely, Geotechnics, Structures, Highway, Materials, Hydrology and hydraulics, Construction and Project Management, IT, Mining, Geomatics and Water and Environmental Engineering.

The Department offers two undergraduate and two postgraduate programmes. The five-year the Bachelor of Engineering (Civil) and the Bachelor of Engineering (Construction Engineering and Management) have been offered since 1990 while the two-year (for full-time students) Master of Science in Civil Engineering and Masters in Project Management (MPM) were launched in the academic year 2005/6. In addition the Department offers the Diploma in Mining

The Department has a number of well qualified and experienced staff with a variety of expertise from the various disciplines of the built environment and mining.

In order to deliver the Programmes, the Department and in some cases as part of the Faculty (FET), have a number of modern and well equipped facilities in form of laboratories, computer rooms and studios

For its future direction the Department is guided by its strategic plan which not only shapes its future but also aligns its contribution to the Universitys strategic intent in form of the Vision and Mission. In essence the strategic plan guides the Departments activities in the key areas of teaching, research and community outreach

In pursuit of academic excellence